Nominees Have Been Announced for the 38th Annual Awards Show




MILWAUKEE, WI – The Wisconsin Area Music Industry (WAMI) has announced the nominees for its 38th annual Awards Show. This year’s show will take place Sunday, April 15, 2018 at the Fox Cities Performing Arts Center. ( Doors open at 6pm, with the WAMI Awards Show beginning at 7pm.

WAMI will host a party celebrating the nominees on Sunday, March 25 at 7pm at The Saloon on Calhoun, 17000 W. Capitol Drive in Brookfield.  The event is free and open to the public.

People’s Choice Awards voting will remain open until March 8  at These awards represent a subset of the annual awards given by WAMI.  They allow for statewide voting by anyone who wishes to nominate in the specified categories. A quadrant system is used to ensure representation from all areas of the state.

The award nominees within their respective categories are as follows:


Artist of the Year:                                                    


Kyle Megna & The Monsoons

Unity the Band

Dead Horses


Abby Jeanne

The Mascot Theory

Platinum Boys


Album of the Year:

Artists of Steel Bridge - “Begging His Graces: The Songs and Sins of pat mAcdonald”

The Fatty Acids - “Dogs of Entertainment”

Abby Jeanne - “Rebel Love”

Soul Low - “Cheer Up”

WebsterX - “Daymares”

Cory Chisel & Adriel Denae - “Tell Me True”

Tre Principesse - “Getting To Know You”

Wisconsin Vinyl Collective -- Volume I


Song of the Year:

Anima - “Ghosts in the Garden”

Altered Five Blues Band - “Charmed and Dangerous”

Lex Allen - “Never Look Back”

Black Belt Theatre - “Too Much Too Soon”

Whips - “Goldmine”

GGOOLLDD - “Excelsior Springs”

The Fatty Acids - “Digested”

J-Council - “We Gotta Move”


New Artist of the Year:                                                       

Hot and Dirty Brass Band

Master of Puppets

Rocket Cat




Tre Principesse

Jay Edward Band


Male Vocalist of the Year:

Rich Hoffman

Julio Reyes

Kyle Megna

Tom Thiel

Thomas Riddle

Erik Kjelland

Jedidiah Tuyls

Abe Foerster


Female Vocalist of the Year:

Kelsey Miles

Katie Sanders

Erin Krebs

Beth Kille

Sammy Ray Marshall

Jackie Brown

Abby Jeanne

Stephanie Tschech



Singer/Songwriter of the Year:                  

Sara Zacek

Kurt Gunn

Alyssia Dominguez

Rob Anthony

Keith Pulvermacher

Tom Thiel

Brett Newski

Jackson Mankowski


Rising Star of the Year:                                          


Shelby Keller

Jaid Ruffing

Lilie Fouts

Parker Collar

Savanna Rose

Maddie Stuyvenberg

Jenna Kopitske


Alternative Rock/Rock Artist:                                                        

Lost Lakes




The Hook Up


American Zeros

Kyle Megna & The Monsoons


Bluegrass/Americana Artist:


Zach Pietrini Band

The Raglanders

The Mascot Theory

The Whiskeybelles

The Listening Party

Ordinary Heathens

Horseshoes & Hand Grenades



Christian/Gospel Artist:                              


Night Divine

MPS Community Gospel Choir

Katie DeNure

John Paul Larson

Isaiah 42:10



Blues Artist:                                                             

Reverend Raven & The Chain Smokin’ Altar Boys

Tweed Funk

Big n Tasty Blues

Altered Five Blues Band

Jay Edward Band

The Jimmy’s

Donnie Pick & The Road Band

Lil Davy Max


Country Artist:

Bella Cain

Grand Union

Yellow Belly Sap Suckers

Bardog Sitters

Cow Ponies

Dexter Road


Rebel Grace


Cover Artist:                                                                                                 

Vic Ferrari


The Presidents

The Dweebs

Road Trip

Johnny Wad

Ask Your Mother

Almighty Vinyl



Folk/Celtic Artist:                                                                                         

Old Soul Society

The Roving Scallywags

Copper Box

Coventry Jones

Killarney Blarney and the Paddy Wagon

Warrior Songs


Age of Fable


Hard Rock Artist:                                                     

Sons of Kong

Imperial Fall

Leading The Blind

Black Belt Theatre

Homeland Conspiracy

20 Watt Tombstone

Sir Real

Bad Habitz


Metal Artist:                                                              

Crush Point



Lords of the Trident

Killing Rapunzel

Metal Men




Punk Artist:

Platinum Boys

The Hussy

Direct Hit!

The Cherrypops

Fox Face

The First Rule

Sedated - A Tribute to the Ramones



Jazz Artist:                                                                                                                                       

KWT featuring Tom Washatka

Rändi Fay

Mike Standal Quartet

Erin Krebs & Jeff Johnston

Jerry Grillo

The Group

Paul Dietrich Quintet

Bill Hill


Polka Artist:                                                                                                 

The Squeezettes

Those Damn Accordions

Steve Meisner

Gary’s Ridgeland Dutchmen

Val Sigal Polka

Alpine Blast

Peggy Hacker Mueller


Pop Rock Artist:                                                                                                      

Xposed 4Heads


Green Screen Kid

Well Known Strangers

Rocket Cat

Soul Low

The Electra Color

The Fatty Acids


Hip Hop/Rap Artist:




Denny Lanez

Rue The Poet



Handz Onn



R&B/Soul Artist:                                                      

Lex Allen

The People Brothers Band


Charles Walker Band

Porky’s Groove Machine


Generation Z

Cigarette Break



Natty Nation

Salsa Manzana

Phocus Reggae

Something To Do

Wade Fernandez


Mas Soul

Unity The Band


Club/DJ/Dance/Electronic Artist:

Aubrey Lee



Mr. Angelo




Horn/Big Band Artist:                                                                                                                     

Swing Explosion Featuring Pete Sorce

Cold Sweat and The Brew City Horns

Live At Nine

Phat Phunktion

Extra Crispy Brass Band

Lighthouse Big Band

F.B.I. & The Untouchable Horns

Big Band Reunion



Tribute Artist:                                                                       

The Rush Tribute Project

The Prince Experience

Brain Stewed


Slow No Wake

Ants Marching

Separate Ways

Project Pink



Andy Mertens

Sara Lloyd

Tim Burton

Tim Perkins

Fred Velpel

Evil Evans

David Germanson

Chris Hanaway



Jerry Kruschke

Billy Wendt

Tom Hansen

Adam Hatton

Andy Zuraw

Erik Holmes

Dean Tassone

Caitlin Sweeney



Bobby Evans

Max Jones

Danny Wendt

Gary Shaw

Patrick Stillman

Ryan Gleason

Angie Swan

Scott Dercks




Mark Chartre

Jeff Eisberner

Adam Pryor

Noah Harmon

Shawndell Marks

Paul Moore

Logan Dier

Brett Schroeder



Matt Antoniewicz

Renee Millard

Ben Hohenstein

Andrew Spadafora

Kurt Shipe

Al Falasci

Danny Jerabek

Michelle Jerabek



Joe Ketchum

Russ Greeley

Thea Morton Vorass

Jess Lex

Chauntee Ross

Monique Ross

Emily Knutson

Mark Fowler


Best Studio Engineer/Producer:   

Tom Washatka

Marc Golde

Tony Anders

Tim Burton

Gary Tanin

George Renner

Vinny Millevolte

Joe Hite



Best Recording Studio:      

Rock Garden

Makin Sausage Music

Renwood Messenger

Cherry Pit Studios

Musicmann Studios

Steel Moon

Cave Studios MKE

Shane Olivo Audio


Best Live Club/Venue:        

Northstar Casino

The Saloon On Calhoun

The Source Public House

Gibson Music Hall

Paulie’s Pub and Eatery

Cactus Club

Short Branch Saloon

Headliner’s Bar & Grill


Best Live Engineer Sound/Lights:

Jason Lueck

John Dougherty

Mike Fleury

Trevor Powers

Aaron Duesterhoeft

Brian Blankenheim

Kim Guibord

Kelly Klaus