Artists in 35 Categories Competing For State Awards


MILWAUKEE, WI – The Wisconsin Area Music Industry (WAMI) has announced the nominees for the 33rd Annual WAMI Awards Show ceremony. The Awards Show will be held Sun., April 14, at Turner Hall, 1034 N. 4th St. in Milwaukee. Tickets are $24.99 and available at the Pabst Theater Box Office or online at


WAMI honored the nominees during the 2013 WAMI Award Nominees Party on March 24 at 6 pm at Moct, 240 E. Pittsburgh Avenue in Milwaukee, with a live performance by DJ Poizon Ivy at 7pm.


People’s Choice voting is closed. The Peoples Choice Nominees in the categories including: Artist of the Year, Radio Station of the Year, Music Teacher of the Year and Music Venue of the Year are listed here.


The 2013 WAMI Award Categories and Nominees are as follows:


Artist of the Year: Cory Chisel and the Wandering Sons, Field Report, Jaill, Sammy Llanas, The Delta Routine, The Lucas Cates Band, Trapper Schoepp & The Shades


Album of the Year: “Can You Hear Me” (Boxkar), “Old Believers” (Cory Chisel and the Wandering Sons), “Field Report” (Field Report), “Shaker and the Egg” (Shaker and the Egg), “Music for Fine Dining” (Something To Do), “Good Folks” (The Lucas Cates Band), “Whiskey Woman” (The WhiskeyBelles)


Song of the Year: “I’ve Been Accused” (Cory Chisel and the Wandering Sons), “I Am Not Waiting Anymore” (Field Report), “In Dreams” (Ivy Spokes), “Anything” (Klassik), “No Boyfriend” (Nicole Waters), “Switchblade” (The Delta Routine)


Female Vocalist: Amy Jo Doty, Chrissy Dzioba, Esh, Ida Jo, Monica Martin, Nicole Kottke, Nora Collins


Male Vocalist: Chris Porterfield, Gabriel Sanchez , Joseph “Smokey”Holman, Marr’Lo Hollowell, Mike Wendland, Pat Schorr, Sammy Llanas


New Artist of the Year: Hugh Bob and the Hustle, Lisa Ridgely & The Fainting Room, Roxi Copland, The Goddamns


Rising Star: Bad Habitz, Boarderline, Felix Ramsey, Myles Wangerin, Nora Collins, Stephanie Erin Brill


Alternative: Avenues, Daphni, Field Report, Ikarus Down, Into Arcadia, Sunspot, Tiny Riots


Americana/Bluegrass: Art Stevenson & High Water, Beef Tea, Copper Box, Dead Horses, Horseshoes & Hand Grenades, Sloppy Joe, The WhiskeyBelles


Big Band/Horn Band: Group of the Altos, Big Mouth & The Power Tool Horns, Cold Sweat and the Brew City Horns, Extra Crispy Brass Band, Hip Pocket, Mama Digdown’s Brass Band, The Uptown Savages


Blues: Aaron Williams and the Hoodoo, Alex Wilson Band, Altered Five, Reverend Raven & the Chain Smokin’ Altar Boys, South End Blues Band, The Jimmys, The Katz Sass


Celtic/Folk: Derek Byrne & Paddygrass, Folk You, Macyn Taylor, Reilly, The Sandcarvers, Whiskey of the Damned


Christian/Gospel: Danen Kane, Koine, Lightswitch, Michelle Posey & Standing Firm, Saved By Grace, The Burie Family


Club DJ/Dance: Deletah, DJ Bizzon, DJ Poizon Ivy, Loveless, Signaldrift, Tarik


Country: Chasin’ Mason, Diamond & Steel, Grand Union, Madison County, Pat Watters Band, Rebel Grace, SaddleBrook


Cover Band: Half Empty, Rabid Aardvarks, Road Trip, Rooftop Jumpers, Spoiled Rotten, Star Six Nine, The Toys


Hard Rock: Annex, Beyond Fate, Conniption, Dead Modern Villains, Mad Mad Ones, Spiral Trance


Jazz: Nineteen Thirteen, 4th Street Elevator, Jamie Breiwick, Jazz Orgy, Jerry Grillo, We Six, Opus


Polka: Brewhaus Polka Kings, Brian Brueggen & the Mississippi Valley Dutchmen, Happy Schnapps Combo, The Rhythm Playboys, Steve Meisner, The Squeezettes


Rap/Hip Hop: BLAX, Jesse Lester, Fresh Cut Collective, Klassik, Pizzle, Prophetic


R&B/Soul: Al White, Charles Walker Band, Hypnopotamus, Streetlife, The Blue Olives, Tweed Funk, Weapons of Mass Defunktion


Reggae/World/Ska: Unity, De La Buena, Nabori, Phocus, R.A.S. Movement, The Invaders


Rock/Pop: Boy Blue, Dory Drive, Fever Marlene, Ian & The Dream, Jaill, Sexy Ester, Something To Do, Vic and Gab


Singer/Songwriter: Annie B., Evan Christian, Mark Croft, Old Earth, Pat McCurdy, Rob Anthony, Tony Memmel


Tribute: 5 Card Studs, 52nd Street, No Quarter, Project Pink, Reckless Life, Stoneship Eden, The Prince Experience



Bass: Donn Trampe, Eric Madunic, Andy Mertens, Jordan Kroeger, J.P. Cyr, Mark Noxon, Matthew Wilson


Drummer: Alan Arber, Bill Sargent, Joe Miller, Jon Phillip, Matt Gieseke, Mauro Magellan, Mike Underwood


Guitarist: Misha Siegfried, Perry Weber, Ryan Rossebo, Scott Hlavenka, Scotty Meyer, Tom Jordan, Tom Thiel


Keyboard: Alex Drossart, Danny Moore, Jimmy Voegeli, Kevin Machan, Marc Ballini, Nick Berg, Tyler Traband


Reeds/Brass: Andrew Spadafora, Charles Walker, Eric Schoor, Jeff Maddern, Kevin Klemme, Mary Rodgers, Seth Jorgensen


Strings: Blaine McQuinn, Bob Weigandt, Ida Jo, Janet Schiff, Kimmy Unger, Peter Thomas



Producer: Jack LeTourneau, Jeff Hamilton, Marc Golde, Marty Cheyka, Tony Anders, Vinny Millevolte


Recording Studio: Renwood Messenger Studios, Rock Garden Studio, Tanner-Monagle, The Exchange Recording Complex, Whitehouse Studios


The Wisconsin Area Music Industry is a volunteer organization whose purpose is to educate and recognize the achievements and accomplishments of individuals in the Wisconsin music industry.  The group also utilizes its funds to provide a Youth Music Showcase and provide scholarships to students and emerging artists.


For more information contact Sue Schrader ( at Blonde Ambition Public Relations, 262.377.4180.


# # #