2006 WAMI Award winners


The 26th Annual WAMI Awards show was held May 22, 2006 at the Northern Lights Theater, Potawatomi Casino, Milwaukee.


The winners were:


Group or Artist of the year: Boxkar

New Group or Artist of the year: Thomas Lane

CD/Recording of the year: Bascom Hill - "Maybe"

Song of the year: Spiral Trance - "Hellacious"

Male Vocalist of the year: Chris Szebeni

Female vocalist of the year: Jayme Dawicki

Pop/Adult contemporary: The Mahp

Rock group/Artist: Envy (now All Envy Aside)

Big band/swing: Swing Nouveau

Bluegrass/traditional americana: (tie) Salt Creek and Norrie Cox and the New Orleans Stompers

Blues group/artist: Big O and the Shakers

Contemporary jazz: Fell Boyzs

Cover group: Old Mil

Gospel/Christian group/artist: Tammy Ann Winn

Classical: Waukesha Symphony Orchestra

Country: Great Guns

Folk/Acoustic: No Strings Attached

Traditional jazz: Kaye Berigan

World Ethnic: One Drum

R&B/Hip hop: Rusty P's

Specialty Nostalgia: Beatallica

Bassist: Sam Kidd

Drummer: Craig Panosh

Guitarist: (tie) Steve Lewandowski and Chris Dame

Reeds/Brass: Chuck Hedges

Keyboardist: Sam Steffke

Specialty Instrument: Madison Slim - Harmonica

Music Biz person: Bill Brunke

Music Venue: Milwaukee Ale House

Industry Website: (tie) www.bananasentertainment.com and www.midwestentertainers.net

Group/Artist website: www.crazymansbasement.com

Print media: Appleton Post Crescent

Radio station: 95WIIL

Studio: Rock Garden

Producer: Jeff Hamilton

Stage Production: Starlight

Hall of Fame: Michael Angelo Batio

Presidents Award: John Ertl


Peoples choice:


The Toys

Shepherd Express

Ale House




Madison County

Ricks Cafe

High Noon Saloon




One Ton Banana

The Entertainer

Mill Creek




Sonic Circus

City Pages

Scott Street Steak n Pub

107.9 ROCKET